Support Center
Trending in Sports
26 Aug, 2020

National Sports Awards 2020: List of all the winners

Not Yet Rated
Not Yet Rated
1 Star
0% Rating
2 Star
0% Rating
3 Star
0% Rating
4 Star
0% Rating
5 Star
0% Rating

The Indian Ministry of Sports announced the list of sports personalities of India who will be awarded the 2020 National Sports Awards. For the Arjuna award, 27 sportspersons have been selected this year, and the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award has been received among the five names, which is the highest sporting honour award in the country.

National Sports Awards are given each year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. On National Sports Day, which is August 29, 2020, the awardees will be felicitated with the awards from the Honorable President of India, Ram Nath Kovind, in a specially organized function through the virtual mode from Rashtrapati Bhavan. The birth anniversary of the great Olympic hockey player Major Dhyanchand is also celebrated on National Sports Day.

Here’s the complete list of National Sports Awards 2020 winners:


The award is given to the sportspersons for their most outstanding & magnificent performance in the sports over a period of four years. This year, 5 winners have been selected for the honour.

S. No.             Sportsperson’s          Name Sport
1 Rohit Sharma Cricket
2 Mariyappan Thangavelu Para Athletics
3 Manika Batra Table Tennis
4 Vinesh Phogat Wrestling
5 Rani Rampal Hockey


The award is given for outstanding performance in the field of sports over a period of four years. In 2020, 27 players have been selected for the Arjuna Award for outstanding performance for four consecutive years.

S. No. Sportsperson’s Name Sport
1 Atanu Das Archery
2 Dutee Chand Athletics
3 Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy Badminton
4 Chirag Chandrasekhar Shetty Badminton
5 Vishesh Bhriguvanshi Basketball
6 Subedar Manish Kaushik Boxing
7 Lovlina Borgohain Boxing
8 Ishant Sharma Cricket
9 Deepti Sharma Cricket
10 Sawant Ajay Anant Equestrian
11 Sandesh Jhingan Football
12 Aditi Ashok Golf
13 Akashdeep Singh Hockey
14 Deepika Thakur Hockey
15 Deepak Hooda Kabaddi
16 Kale Sarika Sudhakar Kho Kho
17 Dattu Baban Bhokanal Rowing
18 Manu Bhaker Shooting
19 Saurabh Chaudhary Shooting
20 Madhurika Suhas Patkar Table Tennis
21 Divij Sharan Tennis
22 Shiva Keshavan Winter Sports
23 Divya Kakran Wrestling
24 Rahul Aware Wrestling
25 Suyash Narayan Jadhav Para Swimming
26 Sandeep Chaudhary Para Athletics
27 Manish Narwal Para Shooting


The award is given to talented coaches who have producing medal winners in prestigious international sports events. This year 8 winners have been selected for life-time category and 5 winners for the regular category.

Life-Time Category

S. No. Coach’s Name Sport
1 Dharmendra Tiwary Archery
2 Purushotham Rai Athletics
3 Shiv Singh Boxing
4 Romesh Pathania Hockey
5 Krishan Kumar Hooda Kabaddi
6 Vijay Bhalchandra Munishwar Para Powerlifting
7 Naresh Kumar Tennis
8 Om Parkash Dahiya Wrestling

Regular Category

S. No. Coach’s Name Sport
1 Jude Felix Sebastian Hockey
2 Yogesh Malviya Mallakhamb
3 Jaspal Rana Shooting
4 Kuldeep Kumar Handoo Wushu
5 Gaurav Khanna Para Badminton


This award is given for lifetime contribution to the development of the sport. This year 15 players have been awarded the Dhyan Chand Award.

S. No. Sportsperson’s Name Sport
1 Kuldip Singh Bhullar Athletics
2 Jincy Philips Athletics
3 Pradeep Shrikrishna Gandhe Badminton
4 Trupti Murgunde Badminton
5 N. Usha Boxing
6 Lakha Singh Boxing
7 Sukhvinder Singh Sandhu Football
8 Ajit Singh Hockey
9 Manpreet Singh Kabaddi
10 J. Ranjith Kumar Para Athletics
11 Satyaprakash Tiwari Para Badminton
12 Manjeet Singh Rowing
13 Late Shri Sachin Nag Swimming
14 Nandan P Bal Tennis
15 Netarpal Hooda Wrestling


The award is given to the corporate sports entities (both in the private and public sector) as well as individuals who have played a significant role in the promotion and development of the sport.

S. No. Category Sports Entity 
1 Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent 1. Lakshya Institute
2. Army Sports Institute
2 Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) Ltd.
3 Employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measures Air Force Sports Control Board
4 Sports for Development International Institute of Sports Management (IISM)


The award is given to recognize the spirit of adventure among the people of the country.

S. No. Sportsperson’s Name Category
1 Anita Devi Land Adventure
2 Col. Sarfraz Singh Land Adventure
3 Taka Tamut Land Adventure
4 Narender Singh Land Adventure
5 Keval Hiren Kakka Land Adventure
6 Satendra Singh Water Adventure
7 Gajanand Yadava Air Adventure
8 Late Shri Magan Bissa Life Time Achievement


The trophy is being conferred to the overall top performance of the university in the inter-university tournament.

S. No. University Name
1 Panjab University, Chandigarh
*We crave for modifications and accuracy. Help us do that with your valuable feedback.

What do you think about the above article?

  • Click to add a comment...