Support Center
Trending in Sports
22 Mar, 2021

Road Safety World Series 2021 Final: Yuvraj & Yusuf led India Legends to lift the trophy

Not Yet Rated
Not Yet Rated
1 Star
0% Rating
2 Star
0% Rating
3 Star
0% Rating
4 Star
0% Rating
5 Star
0% Rating

In an inaugural edition of the Road Safety World Series T20, India Legends have emerged as the winners. In the final at Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium on Sunday, India Legends thrashed Sri Lanka Legends by 14 runs. 

Indian Legends team have been the most dominant team in the T20 tournament and were the favourite to win the tournament title. And they did precisely the same, as several retired Indian players turned on the heat in the final.

In the final match, Yuvraj Singh and Yusuf Pathan showed an impressive all-around performance in the challlenging final against opponents led by Tillakaratne Dilshan.

Earlier in the match, India Legends batted first and scored a challenging total - 181/4. They lost a couple of early wickets, though. Skipper Sachin Tendulkar showed his tremendous form, scored 30 runs in 23 balls and forging a 43-run partnership with Yuvraj. After Tendulkar's dismissal, Yuvraj and Yusuf Pathan smashed two quick fifties.

Yuvraj slammed 60 in with 41 balls pocketed with four boundaries and an equal number of sixes, while Yusuf hit an unbeaten 62 in just 36 balls with four boundaries and five sixes.

In the chase, Sanath Jayasuriya from Sri Lanka Legends hammered 43 runs in 35 balls, Chinthaka Jayasinghe hit 40 runs in 30 balls, and Kaushalya Weeraratne scored 38 runs in 15 balls.  

Sri Lanka Legends needed 24 runs from the last over, but Munaf Patel, in his best vintage form, gave only nine runs and restricted Sri Lankans to 167/7 in 20 overs to ensure a comfortable victory.

Yusuf Patan was named Man of the Match for his comprehensive all-round performance. In contrast, Sri Lanka Legends skipper Tillakaratne Dilshan was named "Best Player of the Series" for his all-round participation in the tournament, as he scored 271 runs and scalped 12 wickets in eight games for his team to help them finish in second place.

India Legends Squad: Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar (c), Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, S Badrinath, Naman Ojha (w), Irfan Pathan, Manpreet Gony, Vinay Kumar, Pragyan Ojha, Munaf Patel

Sri Lanka Legends Squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (c), Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga (w), Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Chamara Silva, Kaushalya Weeraratne, Russel Arnold, Farveez Maharoof, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dhammika Prasad, Rangana Herath

After India's triumph, Yuvraj took to Instagram to share a photo with his India Legends teammates. 

*We crave for modifications and accuracy. Help us do that with your valuable feedback.

What do you think about the above article?

  • Click to add a comment...
    • eachdaysports
    • eachdaysports3 years ago
    • Outstanding post, you have pointed out some good details , we too conceive this s a very fantastic website.
    • Reply
    • Report
    • Click to hide