Support Center
Trending in Sports
06 Jul, 2021

Athletics Federation named 26-member squad including Tajinderpal Singh Toor for the Tokyo Olympics

Not Yet Rated
Not Yet Rated
1 Star
0% Rating
2 Star
0% Rating
3 Star
0% Rating
4 Star
0% Rating
5 Star
0% Rating

The Athletics Federation of India (AFI) announced on Monday that a 26-person team will compete in the Tokyo Olympics, which will be held from July 23rd to August 8th. The list includes the name of India's shot put star Tajinderpal Singh Toor.

“We are delighted that the national team is fully prepared, physically and emotionally, for the Olympic Games. We are pleased that our athletes have continued to train since the lockdown was lifted. The federation is looking forward to the team's excellent performance," - said Adille Sumariwalla, President of AFI, in a press release issued on Monday.

The Tokyo Olympics will officially open on July 23rd, and the athletics competitions will begin on July 31st.

As many as 12 athletes and 4x400m mixed relay teams have reached the entry standards set by the World Athletics to ensure automatic berths.

Dutee Chand (Women's 100m and 200m), Annu Rani (Women's javelin throw), Gurpreet Singh (Men's 50km race walk) and MP Jabir (Men's 400m hurdles) qualified for the Olympic Games in their competitions based on their points in the world rankings.

The 26-member Squad:

For Men

Name Sport
Avinash Sable 3000m Steeplechase
MP Jabir 400m Hurdles
M Sreeshankar Long Jump
Tajinderpal Singh Toor Shot Put
Neeraj Chopra Javelin Throw
Shivpal Singh Javelin Throw
KT Irfan 20km Race Walk
Sandeep Kumar 20km Race Walk
Rahul Rohilla 20km Race Walk
Gurpreet Singh 50km Race Walk
Amoj Jacob 4x400m Men's Relay
Arokia Rajiv 4x400m Men's Relay
Muhammed Anas 4x400m Men's Relay
Naganathan Pandi 4x400m Men's Relay
Noah Nirmal Tom 4x400m Men's Relay

For Women

Name Sport
Dutee Chand 100m and 200m
Kamalpreet Kaur Discus Throw
Seema Antil-Punia Discus Throw
Annu Rani  Javelin Throw
Bhawna Jat 20km Race Walk
Priyanka Goswami 20km Race Walk

Mixed Team

Name Sport
Sarthak Bhambri 4x400m Mixed Relay
Alex Antony 4x400m Mixed Relay
Subha Venkatesan 4x400m Mixed Relay
Revathi Veeramani 4x400m Mixed Relay
Dhanlakshmi Sekhar 4x400m Mixed Relay
*We crave for modifications and accuracy. Help us do that with your valuable feedback.

What do you think about the above article?

  • Click to add a comment...